Athletes welcome new reward policy

Athletes welcome new reward policy
Photo credits: 
Katrina //Gowases

Windhoek-Namibian athletes and coaches are excited by the National Sports Reward Policy, which was approved by Cabinet recently.
The recent call by athletes and administrators to be recognised for their hard work and achievements has not fallen on deaf ears - as proven by cabinet's approval of the National Sports Reward Policy.
The decisions were made at the 9th Decision Making in cabinet last week.
The policy will cover preparation and participation as well as rewards for athletes and coaches who have won at competitions such as the Olympics, Paralympics, Special Olympics, Commonwealth Games, World Championships, All Africa Games and African games.
One of the country's most successful coaches - Michael Hamukwaya - said it's a good move from government.
“This really will help many athlete especially those who are participating in bigger events. They were doing it for the country for all those years for free, but this time there is a reward for them and for the coaches, so it's really a very good more and good move and a win for sport really looking forward for more development and this will just make the sport in Namibia to move in the right direction” said Hamukwaya.
2010 Commonwealth Bronze medallist and Trap Shot Athlete Gaby Ahrens, is the Athletes' Representative on the NNOC executive board and Chairperson of the Athletes Commission.
She is excited about the policy.
“I welcome the rewarding policy because, now it's clear that all athletes will have their achievements rewarded the same way, in the past the ad hock approach really created feelings of unfairness and favouritism amongst the Namibian athletes. Sport at elite level is very expensive, it is a tremendous investment, so this cash awards at the end of all effort and elevate most dying financial statuses which athletes are finding themselves in after pursuing their sports career” Ahrens said.
Namibia's para-athletes Johanna Benson and Ananias Shikongo, Boxer Jonas Junius Jonas and Helalia Johannes are among those who were individually recognised before the introduction of this policy.