Baby Warriors off to Brazaville

Baby Warriors off to Brazaville
Photo credits: 


Namibia’s triumphant Under-17 team - dubbed the Baby Warriors - left for Congo Brazzaville this morning to try and overturn a 2-1 first leg defeat in their Confederation of African Football (CAF) 2017 U-17 African Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The clash against Congo will take place at the Alphonse Massemba-Debat Stadium in Brazzaville on Sunday afternoon.
The Namibian team will look to avenge a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Congo two weeks ago in Windhoek. According to coach Timo Tjongarero, the team aims to do their best and take in the rigors of African football.

“The boys have done well thus far. We go to Congo aiming to do well in terms of results. We need to win 2-1 to force penalties and 2-0 to advance to the next round. It is not an easy task playing away in Africa but the boys are in the right frame of mind; play their best and leave it all on the field”, Tjongarero said.

He added that the overall objective of the team is exposure for the boys, in line with their long term goal of development.

“The boys have really grown in leaps and bounds in terms of adaptation and this can only help them going forward. Some of these boys can be included in the COSASA Games team and can be very influential there and this is what we need, exposure for the boys”, Tjongarero said.

Namibia travels without star striker Godwin Awaseb who saw red in the first leg match.

The winner of the fixture will advance to the third and final round of Madagascar’s 2017 CAF U/17 AFCON finals.

The Baby Warriors Congo-Brazzaville team: Philipus Josef (Otjozondjupa), Johannes Hollombach (Hardap), Lubeni Haukongo (Erongo), Immanuel Isaya (Kavango), Dawid Morgan JR (Khomas), Helmuth Namaseb (Erongo), Stanley Ndjavera (Khomas), Mbakondja Tjahikika (Erongo), Vaino Uugwanga (Khomas), Pitsi Amseb (Khomas), Alex Kaongelwa (Erongo), Mathias Shipanga (Khomas), Giovani Kaninab ( Kunene), Stevano Dundee (Khomas), Denzil Narib (Khomas), Junior Petrus (Oshana) ,Megameno Kapuku (Oshana), Godwin Eiseb (Khomas).