Kazapua, Shitembi & Shilongo to miss COSAFA Cup

Kazapua, Shitembi & Shilongo to miss COSAFA Cup TV

Windhoek-Lloyd Kazapua, Petrus Shitembi and Benson Shilongo will not form part of the Brave Warriors' 2018 COSAFA squad, due to injuries and lack of play time at their respective league teams.
This was revealed by coach Ricardo Mannetti at a media briefing in Windhoek earlier today.
Mannetti announced a squad of 24 that will be on duty for the country in this year's 18th edition of the COSAFA Cup slated for Limpopo Province in South Africa from the 27th of May to the 9th of June.
Namibia will join the competition at the quarter-final stage, alongside their opponent Zambia on the 2nd of June.
Notable absentees from the team are Lloyd Kazapua, who lacks play time at his new team in South Africa; Egypt-based striker Benson Shilongo and Tura Magic midfielder Petrus Shitembi, who are both nursing a groin injury at the moment.
Mannetti instead opted for some new faces from the experimental team that already played against Lesotho and Swaziland in friendly matches this year.
“From the experimental team, we selected Donovan Kanjaa, Ikuaterwa Hoveka, Wangu Gome, Willem Pineas and Marcel Papama who have raised their hands, and we want to take a closer look at them,” said Mannetti.
The selected 24 players will be trimmed down to 20 before the team's departure to South Africa for training matches ahead of the COSAFA competition.
According to Mannetti, discipline and hard work are the key to the success.
“In terms of the strength of the squad, it’s important that we look into the dressing room.This team is well balanced, lot of respect and with that we can move mountains’ added Mannetti.
Here is the list of the 24 players selected:
Ratanda Mbazuvara, Maximillian Mbaeva, Edward Maova, Ferdinand Karongee,Vitapi Ngaruka,Tiberius Lombard, Danzil Haoseb, Donovan Kanjaa, Riaan Hanamub , Charles Hambira
Emilio Martin, Annanias Gebhardt, Ikuatera Hoveka, Dynamo Fredericks, Ronald Ketjijere, Gustav Isaak, Wangu Gome, Marcel Papama, Absalom Iimbondi, Willem Pinehas, Peter Shalilule, Deon Hotto and Panduleni Nekundi