Warriors recalls Vries and Katjiukua for Senegal clash

Warriors recalls Vries and Katjiukua for Senegal clash

By: Lesley Tjiueza

The Brave Warriors Coach has recalled COSAFA outcasts Vigil Vries and Chris Katjiukua, while Willem Mwedihanga is excluded from the squad that will travel to Senegal for the African Cup of Nations Qualifier on the 3rd of September.

Ricardo Manetti also said he wants to cause an upset in Senegal.

“I want to cause an upset. I will have two weeks of preparations and we want a better result this time around. Looking at recent results from our U-17 who won the COSAFA cup, shows that the underdog can also surprise.” said Manetti.
Mannetti then called on his charges to prepare well - physically as well as mentally - and go to great lengths in Senegal.
The 20 Senegal-bound players were predominantly part of the COSAFA cup team, with the inclusion of Petrus Shitembi who was not involved in the COSAFA Cup due to an injury.

Manetti said that his door has always been open to players and the inclusion of Vries and Katjiukua - who were omitted from the COSAFA due to disciplinary measures - is proof for that. He also explained Mwedighanga’s exclusion.
“Willem has indicated that he does not want to play because of fatigue. He has not indicated that he wants to be included and until such a time that he indicates his willingness to be part of the set-up, I will omit him.” said Manetti

Namibia, who are in third spot of Group K with 6 points after 5 games have no chance of qualifying. Senegal is on top with 15 points after 5 games..

The Namibia-based players will train at the NFA Technical Centre until Thursday before leaving for Pretoria to join the South African-based players. The team will depart for Dakar on 1 September, play on 03 September and return home on 05 September.

The following 20 Brave Warriors will travel to Senegal: Max Mbaeva (Golden Arrows), Virgil Vries (Maritzburg United), Da costa Angula (Unattached), Chris Katjiukua (Golden Arrows) Ferdinand Karongee (Tigers), Tiberius Lombard (Tura Magic), Edmund Kambanda( UNAM), Oswaldo Xamseb (Tura Magic), Deon Hotto (Bloemfontein Celtic), Hendrick Somaeb (Unattached), Petrus Shitembi(Unattached),Absalom Iimbondi(Tigers), Larry Horaeb (Black Africa), Ananias Gebhardt (Jomo Cosmos) Africa), Wangu Gome (Bidvest Wits),Benson Shilongo (Platinum Stars), Dynamo Fredericks (Black Africa), Ronald Ketjijere (African Stars), Itamunua Keimuine (Tura Magic) and Peter Shalulile (Highland Parks).